Graphical adventure games have been around for many years, but few have been as influential as the Kings Quest series. Created by Roberta Williams, one of the co-founders of Sierra Entertainment, King’s Quest portrays the exploits of the royal family of Daventry. A fictional country that holds many similarities to our own, except that many of the myths and legends we believe to be fiction are presented as reality, such as fire breathing dragons, wicked sorcerers and talking animals.

There have been eight main entries in the series to date, not counting the reboot that is currently in development by The Odd Gentleman, or the fan produced ninth entry The Silver Lining that was released as freeware a few years previously. Although each of the adventures are connected by their narrative, the games have changed considerably throughout the series, with some of the changes becoming industry standards for the entire genre.

Although they were developed in different ways as the gaming industry changed, the themes of King’s Quest were always kept in mind. Whether your playable character is the honourable Graham, the young but wise Alexander, the dutiful Valanice or the fiercely determined Rosella, your mission is always the same. To maintain or restore the balance of harmony in the worlds they traverse, and retrieve a legendary treasure held by the darker forces, whether it is a chest of gold or the heart of a fair princess.

In order to tell the tales of the previous King’s Quest games, we will need to go back to 1983, when the arcades were alive with the sound of synthpop, and the computer game industry was still finding it’s feet.

King’s Quest: Quest for the Crown

King’s Quest II: Romancing the Throne

King’s Quest III: To Heir is Human

King’s Quest IV: The Perils of Rosella

King’s Quest V: Absence Makes The Heart Go Yonder

King’s Quest VI: Heir Today, Gone Tomorrow

King’s Quest VII: The Princeless Bride

King’s Quest VIII: The Mask of Eternity