Game Developers Choice Awards 2013 Winners

Wednesday night was the night that the 13th annual Game Developers Choice Awards took place. This night was a night for the game developers themselves to vote for one another’s games and praise those that have stood out to the industry specialists.

Here is the list of winners in each category.

Lifetime Achievement Award: Dr. Ray Muzyka and Dr. Greg Zeschuk
Pioneer Award: Steve Russell
Audience Choice Award: Dishonored – Arkane Studios
Ambassador Award: Chris Melissinos
Game of the Year: Journey – thatgamecompany
Innovation Award: Journey – thatgamecompany
Best Audio: Journey – thatgamecompany
Best Debut: FTL: Faster Than Light – Subset Games
Best Downloadable Game: Journey – thatgamecompany
Best Game Design: Journey – thatgamecompany
Best Handheld/Mobile Game: The Room – Fireproof Studios
Best Narrative: The Walking Dead – Telltale Games
Best Technology: Far Cry 3 – Ubisoft
Best Visual Arts: Journey – thatgamecompany

As you can see, Journey more or less cleaned house last night at the awards. The awards that went to other games didn’t even have Journey in the nominated list, but let’s not disregard those in any way at all, they are all brilliant games.

What do people think about Journey coming out strong in the awards voted for by members of the games industry? Leave a comment and let us know.